LA Guestlist

Sourcing Los Angeles Culture

“The Martian,” “Mad Max: Fury Road” and “The Revenant” Won Best Productions at the 20th Annual Art Directors Guild Awards

The Art Directors Guild tonight announced winners of its 20th Annual Excellence in Production Design Awards, in 11 categories of film, television, commercials and music videos during a black-tie ceremony at The Beverly Hilton. The Martian, Mad Max: Fury Road and The Revenant won Best Production Design for Feature Film. Television winners included Game of Thrones, House of Cards, American Horror Story: Hotel, The Big Bang Theory and The Muppets respectively. The awards took place before an audience of more than 900, including guild members, industry executives and press. In celebration of their 20th anniversary, the Art Directors Guild inaugurated a new official trophy called the Cinemagundi, designed by guild member Fredrik Buch, which was handed out to tonight’s winners. ADG President Nelson Coates and Art Directors Council Chair Marcia Hinds presided over the awards ceremony with comedian Owen Benjamin serving as host for the third year-in-a-row.

Director David O. Russell received the Guild’s prestigious Cinematic Imagery Award. Oscar-winning actress Eva Marie Saint presented Turner Classic Movies host Robert Osborne with ADG’s inaugural William Cameron Menzies Award, for his work in championing classic motion pictures. Recipients of this year’s Lifetime Achievement Awards included Scenic Artist Bill Anderson, Oscar-nominated Matte Artist Harrison Ellenshaw, Set Designer William J. Newmon II and Emmy and Oscar-winning Production Designer Patrizia von Brandenstein. Four legendary women: Oscar and Emmy-winning Production Designer Carmen Dillon, Emmy-winning Production Designer and Illustrator Dorothea Holt Redmond, Oscar-nominated and Emmy-winning Production and Costume Designer Patricia Norris, and Art Director and Set Designer Dianne Wager were inducted into the Art Directors Guild Hall of Fame.

Presenters for this year’s awards included Bryan Cranston, Jennifer Jason Leigh, LL Cool J, Amy Landecker and Kelsey Reinhardt, Anthony Anderson, Aubrey Plaza, Will Forte, Kunal Nayyar, Jaime Pressly, Niecy Nash, Thomas Middleditch and O’Shea Jackson Jr.

Photo By: Craig T. Mathew and Greg Grudt/Mathew Imaging

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published.