LA Guestlist

Sourcing Los Angeles Culture

Surrounded by Elegant Wardrobes at the 18th Costume Designers Guild Awards Presented by Lacoste

The winners of the 18th Costume Designers Guild Awards were announced at the beginning of this years Oscar Week, which was hosted by actress Betsy Brandt. The Guild handed out competitive awards for Costume Design Excellence in seven categories for film, television, and short-form design. Lacoste has been a supporter of the CDGA for more than a decade and returned as presenting sponsor for the sixth consecutive year.

The Guild honored two-time Academy Award winning actress Cate Blanchett with the Lacoste Spotlight Award, which was presented to her by three-time Academy Award winning costume designer Sandy Powell. A double Academy Award and CDGA nominee this year, Powell worked with Blanchett on three films: The Aviator, Cinderella, and Carol.

The Distinguished Collaborator Award was presented to award-winning film director, screenwriter, producer, and actor Quentin Tarantino in recognition of his creative partnerships with costume designers. The award was presented to Tarantino by The Hateful Eight co-stars, Kurt Russell and Academy Award nominee Jennifer Jason Leigh.

Andy Garcia, André Holland, and Lili Mirojnick presented acclaimed costume designer Ellen Mirojnick with this year’s Career Achievement Award for her outstanding work in film and television. Mirojnick has worked on 61 films and numerous TV projects during her 40-year career in costume design. Her costume design credits include, Wall Street, Basic Instinct, Behind the Candelabra, and The Knick. Mirojnick is currently working with director Angelina Jolie Pitt on her next feature film.

Additional presenters included Mindy Kaling, Kate Beckinsale, Emily Ratajkowski, Krysten Ritter, Kiernan Shipka, Constance Zimmer, Lamorne Morris, Jaime Camil, and Adam Rodriguez.

Photo By: Getty Images for CDG

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published.